FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 9, 2024 Contact: Larry Forssberg Email: wcctb@westmontchamber.com

Westmont Chamber of Commerce Educational Foundation One South Cass Avenue, Suite 101 Westmont, IL 60559 Phone: 630-960-5553

Annual Westmont Chamber of Commerce Educational Foundation

Scholarships Awards Announced

Recognition of Exceptional Local Students

Westmont, Illinois, May 9, 2024 – The Westmont Chamber of Commerce Educational Foundation (WCCEF) recently held a heartwarming luncheon to honor the outstanding achievements of some of our area's brightest graduating high school seniors. The event took place on Thursday, May 2nd, at the delightful Neat Kitchen + Bar, located at 246 N. Cass Avenue, Westmont.

We extend our warmest congratulations to the remarkable individuals who have been selected as the 2024 recipients of the Westmont Chamber of Commerce Educational Foundation Scholarships:

Ryan Beulah, Downers Grove South High School Hailey Leona Butusov, Westmont High School Callie Devine, Westmont High School Ivy Ho, Westmont High School Ashley Jimenez-Santiago, Downers Grove North High School Deona Julary, Hinsdale Central High School Andrew Kassay, Fenwick High School Michelle Naom, Westmont High School Gabriella Okuku, Downers Grove South High School Lia Catherine O'Malley, Westmont High School Evalise Marleny Papish, Westmont High School Lana Phung, Westmont High School Patrick Redding, Hinsdale Central High School Charlotte Riemma, Westmont High School Aashina Sawhney, Downers Grove North High School Suryakumari Sista, Westmont High School Tyler Van Laten, Timothy Christian High School Sienna Rose Wong, Westmont High School

The WCCEF, a not-for-profit charitable organization, is dedicated to providing recognition and scholarships to deserving local students. Through various fundraising efforts throughout the year, the WCCEF has raised funds this past year in support of student scholarships.

Page 2 of 3

Thanks to the generosity of the Westmont Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Bureau (WCCTB) members and the wider community, the WCCEF was able to grant \$11,000 in scholarships this year.

Joseph Moffa, President of WCCEF, expressed gratitude, stating, "This marks our twenty-fifth year of empowering young adults from Westmont or children of WCCTB members to pursue their educational aspirations. We owe this success to the unwavering support of local businesses and individuals."

This year also saw the introduction of the Westmont Village's Matthew W. Heiden Public Safety Scholarship, awarded to a student with a passion for Public Safety and/or Public Works. This scholarship honors the memory of Matthew Heiden, who tragically lost his life while serving the community in the Westmont Public Works Department.

We are proud to announce that the recipient of the 2024 Matthew W. Heiden Public Safety Scholarship is Wyatt Riemma, a student from Westmont High School.

Special thanks to our 2024 WCCEF Scholarship donors:

Meilie Tsai and Family in memory of Dr. Tsai Advanced Rehabilitation Clinics - John Christiansen Knights of Columbus Council 3738 Knights of Columbus Council 3738 Ladies Auxiliary Hank & Linda Anzelone Mr. Mark Butler Ms. Jen Burisek Mr. Kevin Carey China Furniture and Arts Ms. Jenifer Fabian Ms. Marie Guzzo Mr. Mike Henslev Mr. Drew Mitchell Ms. Rose Olson Ms. Tracey Valerio Mr. Thomas Walsh

For further details about the WCCEF and its scholarship program, please contact the Westmont Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Bureau at 630-960-5553 or visit their website at: <u>https://www.westmontchamber.com/educational-foundation.html</u>.

#

#

#

Page 3 of 3

Pictured in the photo 2024 WCCEF Scholarship Award Recipients with Nadine Norris, Community Unit School District #201, WCCEF President Joseph Moffa, Hank Anzelone, Education and Awards Selection Committee

